Novak Djokovic Rule Needs To Be Applied To Silence Screaming Aryna Sabalenka

Written by Robert J. Matthews

Cloud Banner

Last summer, Novak Djokovic roared with joy as he sent a backhand down the line in his Wimbledon semi-final against Jannik Sinner, believing it was perfect.

Cloud Banner

Sinner got the ball back in play, but umpire Richard Haigh called Djokovic's shout illegal and awarded Sinner the point under the ‘hinderance’ rule seconds later.

Cloud Banner

Had Djokovic lost his composure, Sinner could have won the match, but the Serbian held on to win 6-3 6-4 7-6(4).

Cloud Banner

After the match, Djokovic said, “First of all, I have to accept the decision from a chair umpire. 

Cloud Banner

The end.Definitely a close call. I've never experienced it. Never had a hindrance call for a long grunt.

Cloud Banner

I watched the replay. I watched my grunt complete before he shot. So the chair umpire's call seemed wrong. In my opinion.

Cloud Banner

Djokovic expressed humility, and his allegations of injustice are strengthened every time Aryna Sabalenka strikes a ball in rage on court.

Cloud Banner

Sabalenka defeated Coco Gauff to reach her second Australian Open final.

UP NEXT STORIE